Easy Breezy Dairy-Free “Milk”

1618467_267126903454574_471899148_n
My family is allergic to dairy… and so for the past few years we have been drinking nut based mylks! Most of the ones found in stores were either a little too watery/flavorless for me, or I did not like the ingredients. So I made my own. This is the recipe I have been using… loved by my whole family! No refined sugar, no preservatives, and not too hard to make! All you need is a blender and a little bit of patience :-). The creamy delicious result is worth it!
Note: I prefer to make a mixed nut mylk over plain almond mylk to enjoy the different nutrients & vitamins unique to each nut!
For example, I always put a few Brazil Nuts (4/5) for the selenium boost!
My kids love using this recipe in cereal, my husband loves it in his espresso, and I love using it in my recipes! We don’t miss regular milk one bit — all the same yumminess but without the feeling of heaviness or mucous that we used to get.

What you will need:
2 cups of your choice nuts ( I am not picking favorites ;))
4 cups water filtered water
2 tsp vanilla & or cinnamon stick
Pinch of sea salt
~~can sweeten a drop to taste if you would like!

*Adjust the amount of water depending on whether you want your milk to be thick and frothy (less water) or more liquidy (more water).

Time to work ;):
Soak nuts overnight with the cinnamon stick .
Wash, drain & put in the food processor ( no cinnamon stick – the flavor got absorbed )
Add water, vanilla & salt .
Blend for 5 min.
Pour into a bowl lined with a cheese cloth .
“Milk” the nuts and drink .

And because I don’t like to let ingredients go to waste, I used the leftover pulp for delicious cookies!! 🙂

More to come.
Sarale

Leave a comment